Monday Ponderings {December 5th}

_mg_7204

Mother had that peculiar God-given gift of imagination so keen that the printed word became to her a vivid, living reality. It was as though, while her body stayed at home and cared for the children, her spirit had climbed far mountain peaks and sailed into strange harbors…Yes, the warp of Mother’s life had been restricted to keeping the home for Henry and the children. But the woof of the texture had been fashioned from the wind clouds and star drifts of the heavens.

Mother Mason by Bess Streeter Aldrich

pg 84-85

2 thoughts on “Monday Ponderings {December 5th}

  1. Oh my. What a beautiful excerpt from an author I just recently discovered. Now I want to read this book. I’ve read her “A Lantern in Her Hand” and its sequel “A White Bird Flying.” Thank you.

    Like

    1. I’m reading A Lantern in Her Hand currently, also, Karen! I read A White Bird Flying first, not knowing that it was a sequel. I loved it SO much, so I had to go search for more of Aldrich’s work. I’m so glad you enjoyed this quote as much I as I did…I’m really enjoying Mother Mason and don’t want it to end, so I’m reading it as slowly as my library will allow. 🙂 Thanks for reading my ramblings, friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

