Tea, Cake, and Susan Branch

_mg_6877_mg_6887_mg_6893

Dear Susan Branch , I just turned the last page of your Martha’s Vineyard: Isle of Dreams. I was so inspired and enchanted. As a wife, mother and home cook, I found it just the perfect shot of encouragement.  I often loose sight of the little bits of joy in creating a home for my loved ones. I  found so much to be inspired by your tenacity in keeping at your dreams.  Your books, especially, Isle of Dreams, and then, A Fine Romance have brought so many smiles to my face, tears (I felt bad for you!), chuckles, and beautiful quotes to think on. Your thoughts on books, movies, cooking,  gardening, and gushes about little lovely bits of life make my feelings of kindred spirit well up. Isle of Dreams was my favorite, but  A Fine Romance was a very close second and I thought of you and just about swooned with delight as I had the chance to visit England this year.

One of the biggest things I loved about Isle of Dreams, was how much you praised and thought on all that you mother had done for you. It is so encouraging to know that little touches, the hot meals, and the traditions reached you and are remembered in a small way. I found that such a blessing to see a child of a big family praising the hard work her mother did for her family. Motherhood isn’t really a prized profession these days and the endless mundane dance we do each day while being told we have to be something MORE can really beat a woman down.

The little cocoa cups, the tea pots, your kitties, the ivy, and the endless magical little paintings you include teach me more than just love of beauty. I want to learn to pay attention deeply, and I pray my children will follow. Just to really listen to people, to savor  meals, to delight in lingering over tea, to mull over and discuss great books, and to never forget their faith. I desire to grow deeper relationships through hospitality and sharing life. You delight and excel in those gifts. Thank you, Susan, for your sweet books and a bit of brightness and warmth to wrap myself in, with a bit of tea and cake, of course.

With love,

Amy

Inspired by this writer, we enjoyed this lovely coffee cake with tea and some new MUSICA for a fall treat. Enjoy!

~

6 thoughts on “Tea, Cake, and Susan Branch

  1. One thing I really appreciate about Susan is that she honors motherhood — not only her own mother. She is a champion for every mother out there. Because she was never able to be a biological mother herself she could have taken her encouragement in a different direction. But I’m glad she didn’t. I’m glad she’s a champion for the home and everything the home does!

    Like

  2. Dear Amy, you’re making me cry. Thank you for that lovely tribute ~ your words about my books are so kind. This world would be nothing without the moms (and dads) who care for and inspire their children with not so much the big things, but the little things that make life sweet. One Mother’s Day a year is simply not enough! Every day should be Mother’s Day. Sending love xoxoxo Susan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

